Unofficial School Board Meeting Minutes


Unofficial Minutes of Regular Meeting - December 21, 2020

The Board of Trustees - Athens Independent School District    



A Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of Athens Independent School District was held Monday, December 21, 2020, beginning at 6:00 PM in the Administration Building Board Room, 104 Hawn Street, Athens, Texas.


I. Call to Order/Certify Notice/Establish Quorum

Mr. Eugene Buford, President of the Board of Trustees, announced a quorum of Board Members was present and called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Members present: Mr. Eugene Buford, Mr. Chris House, Mr. Robert Risko, Mrs. Gina Hunter, Mrs. Margaret Richardson, Mr. Bryan Barker

Members absent: Mr. Freddie Paul

Also present were: Ginger Morrison, Assistant Superintendent of School Operations; Randy Jones, Chief Financial Officer; Brooke Brock, Director of Special Populations; Jami Ivey, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum, Instruction & Accountability; Sergeant Bill Carlow; Gail Carnes, Executive Assistant and Dr. Janie Sims, Superintendent.

II. Invocation was given by Mr. Eugene Buford.

III. Pledge of Allegiance was given to the national and state flags.


IV. Audience Participation

No one signed up to speak.


V. Information/Discussion Items

A. Administrative Report - COVID-19 Related Issues

Dr. Janie Sims, Superintendent, reported to the Board of Trustees that AISD enrollment and attendance numbers continue strong in the district and the number of COVID cases among staff and students are still low.

B. Teacher Incentive Allotment

Ginger Morrison, Assistant Superintendent of School Operations, informed the Board that the teacher incentive allotment, that was a result of House Bill 3, will start in school year 2022-2023. Recognized, Exemplary and Master Teacher will be the three designations and 90% of the incentive/stipend has to go to the campus where the teacher works.


VI. Action Items

A. Consider Resolution Requesting Governor Abbott to Include Public School District Personnel in the Official Expert Vaccine Allotment Panel’s Definition of Frontline Workers

Motion was made by Mr. Robert Risko and seconded by Mrs. Margaret Richardson that trustees approve and adopt the resolution requesting Governor Abbott to include public school district personnel in the official expert vaccine allotment panel’s definition of frontline workers as presented. Motion carried 6:0.

B. Consider Resolution Regarding Employee Extended Sick Leave During an Epidemic

Motion was made by Mrs. Gina Hunter and seconded by Mr. Chris House that trustees approve and adopt the resolution regarding employee extended sick leave during an epidemic as presented. Motion carried 6:0.


VII. Consent Agenda

A. Minutes of the Regular Meeting Held on November 30, 2020

B. Financial Statements for the Month of November 2020

C. Consider Date Change to January 2021 Regular Board Meeting

Motion was made by Mr. Robert Risko and seconded by Mr. Bryan Barker that the consent agenda items be approved as presented. Motion carried 6:0.


VIII. Executive Session Discussion

A. Employment/Resignations of Contract Employees - Texas Gov't Code 551.074

At 6:26 p.m., the Board President announced that trustees would adjourn to executive session as authorized by the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code and/or Education Code concerning any and all purposes permitted by the Act. Should any final action, final decision, or final vote be required, then the final action, final decision, or final vote shall take place in open session. The Board returned to open session at 7:34 p.m.


IX. Executive Session Action – Open Session

A. Employment/Resignations of Contract Employees– Texas Gov’t Code 551.074

The following resignation has been approved: Karina Salazar.


X. Adjourn

Being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7:35 p.m.



Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.